Call for Nominations to Sports Hall of Fame

In May 2016, Ross Quigley formed a committee and in 2017 they founded the Cobourg and District Sports Hall of Fame which is dedicated to documenting the history of local sports, preserving local sports memorabilia and honouring those local athletes and builders who have excelled in sports. Nominations were called for the first inductees in August 2018 and inductees were named in March 2019 at a ceremony – see links below.  Paul Currelly, Layton Dodge, Fred Dufton, Don Ito, Marty Kernaghan, Frank Mazza, Bill O’Neil and Steve Smith were then officially inducted at a gala event in June, 2019.  The “Great Hall” of the Cobourg Community Centre houses the memorabilia – some of it is inspected by a mother and… Read complete articleCall for Nominations to Sports Hall of Fame