Call for Nominations to Sports Hall of Fame

In May 2016, Ross Quigley formed a committee and in 2017 they founded the Cobourg and District Sports Hall of Fame which is dedicated to documenting the history of local sports, preserving local sports memorabilia and honouring those local athletes and builders who have excelled in sports. Nominations were called for the first inductees in August 2018 and inductees were named in March 2019 at a ceremony – see links below.  Paul Currelly, Layton Dodge, Fred Dufton, Don Ito, Marty Kernaghan, Frank Mazza, Bill O’Neil and Steve Smith were then officially inducted at a gala event in June, 2019.  The “Great Hall” of the Cobourg Community Centre houses the memorabilia – some of it is inspected by a mother and daughter in the photo. See the links below for more on the opening ceremony.  But now it’s time for more nominations.

Sports Hall of Fame
Sports Hall of Fame

Today, the Cobourg and District Sports Hall of Fame announced that it is accepting nominations of local sports athletes and builders for election to the Cobourg and District Sports Hall of Fame in 2020.

The Press Release said:

Election is restricted to athletes and builders of sport having a direct connection to the Cobourg and District area. District is defined as the Town of Cobourg and Townships of Hamilton, Cramahe and Alnwick Haldimand. Athletes must be over the age of 35 years, have been active in their sport for at least 5 years and retired for no less than 3 years. Builders include officials, referees, umpires, sponsors, executives, trainers, coaches, promoters and administrators. They must have been outstanding over an extended period of time. Documentary evidence must be provided to support a nomination.

Nominations will be accepted until September 30, 2019.

Nomination forms may be obtained at:

  • The Cobourg Community Centre 750 D’Arcy St Cobourg, 
  • Sommerville Sports, 78 King St W Cobourg,
  • Hamilton Township offices 8285 Majestic Hills Dr, Cobourg,
  • Alnwick Haldimand Township offices 10836 CR#2 Grafton,
  • Cramahe Township offices 1 Toronto St, Colborne
  • Or Download here.

or by writing to

  • Cobourg and District Sports Hall of Fame, P.O. Box 45, Cobourg, ON K9A 1M8.

Last I heard, the committee is: Liz Basinger, Don Conway, Peter Harrison, Mike Irwin, John Ovens, Gil Brocanier and Jennifer Ashley and Ross Quigley.

At the risk of inserting an opinion, perhaps a special effort could be made to find worthy female candidates – that’s up to the nominators, not the committee who can only choose from those nominated.


Print Article: