Cobourg District Sports Hall of Fame First inductees

The startup of the Cobourg’s Sports Hall of Fame was held Sunday afternoon at the Cobourg Community Centre.   Joel Scott was the MC but the spotlight was on the organizing board, the display cabinets and the first eight inductees.   Ross Quigley introduced and spoke for the Board who presented certificates of appreciation to supporters and donors.  One supporter was the Peterborough Sports Hall of Fame who had provided a lot of help and took the opportunity to present a cheque for $2000 – see the list of all major supporters below.  When the Town of Cobourg was recognized, Mayor John Henderson acknowledged that Council support had happened when Gil Brocanier was Mayor so he shared the recognition.  The first eight inductees were announced and then the display cabinets with donated memorabilia were unveiled.

Organizing board

The original members in 2016 were:  Liz Basinger, Don Conway, John Hayden, Peter Harrison, Richard Irvine, Mike Irwin, John Ovens and Ross Quigley. John Hayden and Richard Irvine have since left and been replaced by Gil Brocanier and Jennifer Ashley (see photo below).

First Eight Inductees to the Cobourg and District Sports Hall of Fame.
(in alphabetical order except for #1)

  1. Layton Dodge
  2. Paul Currelly
  3. Fred Dufton
  4. Don Ito
  5. Marty Kernaghan
  6. Bill O’Neil
  7. Frank Mazza
  8. Steve Smith

Download short bios of all these here.

Nominations for next year’s inductees will be called for in the Fall – please send any names to any member of the board.  Similarly if you wish to donate memorabilia, you should contact one of them.

Cobourg Sports Hall of Fame - Display Cabinet
Cobourg Sports Hall of Fame – Display Cabinet

After the inductees were named, the display cases with memorabilia were unveiled.  These are in the hall of the Community Centre.

Major Supporters

  1. Rotary Club of Cobourg
  2. Peter Lorenz
  3. Stevenson Cartage
  4. Harry Cortesis
  5. Pro Electric
  6. Brian and Kim Read
  7. Horizon Plastics
  8. John and Darlene Lamers
  9. Frank Bouwman – Cabinet Maker
  10. Town of Cobourg
  11. Peterborough Sports Hall of Fame

Print Article: 


Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
5 years ago

between figure skaters, marksmanship & fastball i am sure there should have been some women worthy of inclusion?

5 years ago

I think this is a great initiative. However was there really not a single woman worthy of inclusion among the first inductees?

Reply to  Sasha
5 years ago

Sure put Liz Basinger in next time as a builder.

5 years ago

A job well done and without much publicity or self-aggrandisation. Congratulations to all involved, will not name names because all of you deserve thanks!

5 years ago

Congratulations to Ross and his team. A great contribution to the whole community.